ECOGIS Geomatics - Traffic

Concerning the topic of inner-city traffic there are as many opinions as disputants. To solve problems in this field, it is inevitable to find an independent consultant and surveyor. Often, like in the case of the Old Town of Dinkelsbühl, you find out that a precise analysis of the situation can uncover misinterpretations of the real situation by citizens and politicians. Concerning the traffic in the Old Town of Dinkelsbühl the public discussion made the following assumptions for quite a long time:

1. "The main artery roads are less densely inhabitated than the peripheral regions of the Old Town"
2. "There are too few parking lots in the Old Town"

Both assumptions proved to be wrong. It was discovered that the main artery roads are the most desely inhabitated streets, whereas the peripheral regions are rarely drivenand inhabitated. Further it appears that 73% of the whole duration of stay is called on by cars that stay over 75 min in the Old Town (though there is a maximum parking time of 1 h!).

The example of Dinkelsbühl shows, how important it is to have a good analysis of the situation, in order to find the right options for actions. Just imagine, the picturesque Old Town of Dinkelsbühl would be permanently reduced to a mere shortcut...

You can find the wohle work "Altstadtambiente und Individualverkehr" (German language) here.

Bevölkerungsdichte nach Straßen
Img. 1: Inhabitants per 10m road length (source: Dinkelsbühl registration office, own illustration)


PKWs an ausgewählten Punkten
Img. 2: Cars between 8 am and 6 pm at selected positions in the Old Town of Dinkelsbühl (own survey and illustration).

Stundensummen nach Aufenthaltsdauer-Klassen
Img. 3: The parking time multiplied with the number of cars results in a sum of hours for each "typical" duration of stay. The illustration shows the relative parts of these sums of hours and thereby shows, which durations of stay are dominating (own survey and illustration).

URL:http://www.ecogis.de/verkehr_en.html
English: http://www.ecogis.de/verkehr.html

Homepage:http://www.ecogis.net
English: http://www.ecogis.de/

last edited: Johannes Weigel, Jul. 22, 2004

ECOGIS Geomatics - Verkehr


Zum Thema des innerstädtischen Verkehrs gibt es oft so viele Meinungen wie Disputanten. Um hier Probleme zu lösen, ist es daher in der Regel unumgänglich, einen unabhängigen Berater und Gutachter zu finden. Oftmals, wie hier im Falle der Altstadt von Dinkelsbühl, zeigt es sich dann, dass eine genaue Analyse der Situation Fehleinschätzungen von seiten der Bürger und der Politik ans Tageslicht bringen kann. So wurde in Bezug auf die Verkehrsbelastung der Altstadt von Dinkelsbühl lange in der öffentlichen Diskussion von folgenden Annahmen ausgegangen:

1. "Die Hauptverkehrsachsen sind weniger dicht bewohnt als die Randbereiche der Altstadt"
2. "Es gibt zu wenig Parkplätze in der Altstadt"

Beide Annahmen erwiesen sich als falsch. Es zeigt sich, dass es gerade die Durchfahrtstraßen sind, die am dichtesten bewohnt sind, und die Randbereiche kaum befahren und nur dünn besiedelt sind. Weiterhin zeigt sich, dass insgesamt 73% der gesamten Aufenthaltsdauer von Fahrzeugen in Anspruch genommen wird, die sich länger als 75 min in der Altstadt befinden (bei einer maximalen Parkdauer von 1 h!).

Das Beispiel Dinkelsbühl zeigt, wie wichtig eine gute Analyse der Situation ist, um zu den richtigen Handlungsoptionen zu gelangen. Man stelle sich nur vor, die malerische Altstadt von Dinkelsbühl würde dauerhaft zur bloßen Abkürzungsstrecke degradiert...

Die gesamte Arbeit "Altstadtambiente und Individualverkehr" können sie hier herunterladen.


Bevölkerungsdichte nach Straßen
Abb. 1:
Einwohnern pro 10 m Straßenlänge in der Altstadt von Dinkelsbühl (Quelle: Einwohnermeldeamt; eigene Darstellung).

PKWs an ausgewählten Punkten
Abb. 2: PKWs zwischen 8:00 und 18:00 Uhr an ausgewählten Standorten in der Altstadt von Dinkelsbühl (eigene Erhebung und Darstellung).

Stundensummen nach Aufenthaltsdauer-Klassen
Abb. 3: Die Parkdauer multipliziert mit der Anzahl der Fahrzeuge ergibt für jede "typische" Aufenthaltsdauer eine Stundensumme. Die Grafik zeigt die relativen Anteile dieser Stundensummen und gibt damit wieder, welche Parkzeiten dominieren (eigene Erhebung und Darstellung).

URL:http://www.ecogis.de/verkehr.html
English: http://www.ecogis.de/verkehr_en.html

Homepage:http://www.ecogis.de
English: http://www.ecogis.net/

last edited: Johannes Weigel, Apr. 26, 2005